Maid Brigade - House Cleaning Review from Raleigh, North Carolina

Omg!! Unbelievable! Spoke with Pamela numerous times before they came out to clean my 900 sq ft home with 2 people to verify the cost and services to be done. She reiterated the fact that any services not rendered would be deducted from the final cost. I was charged $25.00 to clean my fridge and freezer. It was not done. I left at least a couple of msgs for her to return my call. Instead she had the owner to call me back to state that it would not be refunded. She and Stacy were very chatty and pleasant until I had a question about my final charge. I had originally planned on having them to continue coming once a month. Not now! What is again beyond belief is that the owner and supv Stacy, couldn't care less! So I ended up paying almost $ 300.00 for 3 hrs and everything was not completed that I had originally agreed to. Fridge not cleaned...additional list including cleaning the baseboards. Not done.
View full review
ID
#631737 Review #631737 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Raleigh, North Carolina
Reason of review
Problems with payment
New Reviewer

Surface cleaning after 1St $400 visit

The first visit was 4.5 hours. It cost me close to $500. I have a 3 bedroom, 2.5 bath house. They did a good cleaning the first time. They moved things and cleaned under and around them. Every visit after that they cut corners: they do not move anything to dust or vacuum under. Seemingly, they're trying to set me up for another $400+ cleaning. It's a scam. They start their clock from the minute they arrive and end the clock when they drive out the driveway. These people aren't getting paid anything close to what I'm paying for this "premium" service. It's really very simple. It's a scam. Maid Brigade Nassau County New York
View full review
ID
#580302 Review #580302 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Merrick, New York
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Cons
  • Service after the first visit
Reason of review
Not as described/ advertised
Preferred solution
I'll find a decent housekeeper.

Charged nearly double the estimate and it was still dirty

I was quoted a price of $262 to clean a small patio home in the Phoenix area. Then I received a bill for $470. I called to find out what was going on, and they said they decided to spend 6 hours cleaning it instead of the three hours that they estimated. They did that even though I had told them on the phone that I was only authorizing my credit card to be charged the $262, and that any additional charges would need to be approved by me in advance. They did not ever get my authorization and charged me nearly double anyway. The worst part is that they didn't even clean my house sufficiently. I had to pay another $200 to have a different cleaning service finish the job.
View full review
2 comments
#1007112

Almost same scenario I was quoted 250....charged 486, and this was after the broke 2 irreplaceable items I collected from Okinawa Japan. I did not even receive a bill and asked repeatedly for it and asked for proof that I authorized more than 250.

#952981

Greetings Anonymous, thank you for your post. We are very surprised to hear about your service concerns as we have a service guarantee in place, and we work hard to ensure our customers have a positive experience with us.

Based on the information provided, we took the following steps:

- We searched our database and count not find any activity in 2014 that matched the dollar amounts that you mentioned.

- We looked for customers that had Montana area codes to see if we could track down the order that way, and we did not have any success.

- Lastly, we contacted the other Maid Brigade franchise in east valley Phoenix, and their office was unable to find the activity that you mentioned.

We did not locate any orders that match your description with the information provided. Please contact us so we have an opportunity to resolve this issue.

Our office number is 602-493-****. Thank you!

Best Regards, Alan

View more comments (1)
ID
#503442 Review #503442 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Libby, Montana
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$470

Cleaning Services Review

I paid nearly $250 for a small empty rental. I asked for the stove & oven which was not done & refrigerator which when they were done smelled badly & they could nldo nothing. They tenant turned off electricity & instead 3 came to clean & ultimately did 2 sinks & a bathtub. Said the couldn't clean floors without electricity?? Rather than reschedule or recalculate costs took full cost without going much of anything. Wouldn't do windows to make up for what was undone. Oh & said couldn't clean cobwebs because no electricity. I could have done better alone Not professionals that's for sure!!
View full review
ID
#494994 Review #494994 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Tempe, Arizona

Bait & Switch pricing

After a phone interview was told it would take 2 maids 2 hours to clean my apartment. When 3 showed up - the time miraculously went down to 1.25 hours - which I was not told until they ran out of time. Then the phone calls...ultimately paid an extra $100 bucks for a job I could have done alone in the same amount of time. No wastebaskets emptied, no dusting of things on the wall. a ceiling fan left streaked, no vacuuming under furniture - in short the only thing done well is my oven was cleaned. My kitchen isn't big enough (or dirty enough) take one person alone 2 hours to clean. Never use this service - the bid and the reality are NOT the same.
View full review
ID
#468707 Review #468707 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Port Washington, New York
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$150

They Don't Clean! They just slop the the dirt around and charge you for it.

First you can't "green" clean with windex in your own spray bottles and Mr. Clean erasers. All they did was soak rags with windex and slop the dirt around. Never saw anyone soak a floor with spray and use a dry dust mop and slop the cleaner and dirt all over the floor; they don't even rinse it. All my pictures and glass were streaked and not clean. Also they only did half what they were suppose to do and still charged me the full price quoted on the phone. When they dust all they use is a swifer and when done your furniture is still dusty. The bath tub was also still dirty and was not rinsed so they were covered in grit from the Mr. Clean erasers. They were suppose to wash down all the wood and base boards in the house and only part of it got done and they were all sticky with dirt when they were done. They also ruined my living room tables from wiping them with a soaked rag with windex. It took me 5 hours to wash down everything in my home that took them 2 hours to slop up which made more work for me. I'm disabled and this was suppose to be help for me. I would not recommend this company to clean a dog house much less your home. They are not a professional cleaning company by any means. Save your money and do it yourself.
View full review
ID
#456648 Review #456648 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$186

This review is from a real person who provided valid contact information and hasn't been caught misusing, spamming or abusing our website. Check our FAQ

Verified Reviewer
New Reviewer

Extremely disappointed

We contracted maid brigade to clean our house. 1st crew was 45 min late and refused to clean due to tobacco smoke allergies. 2nd crew arrived approx 45 min later. We left to let them clean. We received a call 20 min later that the 2nd crew was refusing as well. They did not charge us but this cleaning was needed due to death in the family. Needless to say we will not be using them and would never recommend them for any reason. I understand smoke and its smell can be offensive but if you have employees sensitive to smoke then screen beforehand and certainly make certain the backup crew won't bail as well. After all does anyone schedule cleaning for a clean house?
View full review
1 comment
#709670

I agree. Very poor service from the Baltimore County office in Maryland and no response from corporate office when I complained.

ID
#432153 Review #432153 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Irving, Texas

Terrible Cleaners, Dishonest Management, Incompetent Customer Service

After being told I would be scheduled in the afternoon, and they would call the day before to confirm the time, I was notified the day before that they had me scheduled for 8:45am. When I objected, the manager called me back an hour later and said that was the only time slot they had available for me. If found out the next day, when I was on the phone to customer service that they bumped up my time slot for their convenience and they, "didn't want to" schedule me at a different time from someone else on my side of town. One of the girls who came to my house called me, very rudely informing me that they were at my house and no one was there. I informed her that my scheduled time was 8:45, and I would be there at 8:45, but not before, as I had other matters that required my attention. The one girl was rude from the word go, and had an extremely bad attitude, even though I tried to be as kind as possible. She was even worse, almost threatening to the other lady working with her (who was actually a kind person). The quote I was given was $140-$240 "max." This was supposed to be a deep cleaning on a house that we were to move in to the following weekend. I informed the woman who booked the job that the previous tenants did not take care of the house, and it needed a lot of work, but she opted to disregard the information I provided. I had to leave to go to work (late), and my husband had to leave work to go to the house when I did so. When the timer hit $240, the rude girl went down stairs and told my husband that their time was up, and if we wanted them to continue that it would be extra. They had not even finished the up stairs! He asked about how much longer it would take, and how that would translate financially. She refused to give him even a very rough estimate and went back up stairs and called her supervisor. After several of these sort of interactions, providing zero information, the customer service woman called my husband and said that the owner was not available, and they could not give him any more information. He asked why it was so much more than the estimate, and she said that she didn't know how bad it would be. When he inquired about her previous conversation with me prior to booking, she called me a liar, insisting I never told her the house needed a lot of work, that it was her system's fault the estimate was too low, and there was nothing she could do about it. Although my husband was practicing a great deal of restraint and being as kind as he could, he became very upset when the rude girl came down stairs, grabbed her things, and snapped at the other girl that they were leaving 'now.' At this time, I was wasting my time at work on the phone with the customer service lady who informed me that the rude girl had been on the phone with the owner, and told him that she was afraid of my husband, and she felt threatened. This is ridiculous, since they never even came near one another, and my husband is a very kind man. After examining the work that had been done up stairs, I have no idea what on earth they were doing for three hours up there. Neither girl was tall enough to reach things like bathroom light fixtures (which I was told would be polished, tops of shelves, and the top of the shower. The drawers (which I was told would be cleaned) were untouched, and the shower in the master bath was still dirty. When I cleaned it, all it took was one or two swipes with a cloth, so I have no idea why they could not get it clean. We are currently disputing the charges made by Maid Brigade, and we are intensely disappointed with their work and staff.
View full review
ID
#424248 Review #424248 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Indianapolis, Indiana
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$255

Missing items - Broken things don't expect much from them

Maid Brigade - Missing items - Broken things don't expect much from them
When Moving my expensive collectables from my curio cabinets for the carpeting to get replaced I found three missing items I did not notice missing before. I called the office the next day & spoke to R _ _ _ _ the manager & told her about this discovery. She said she would talk to the team who had been cleaning my home for over two years & get back to me, she was apologetic and told me she would get back to me about this. One week went by and I ended up calling her back to get some kind of answer or resolution, she explained that none of the staff knew anything. I decided although upset to let the situation go since I had no solid proof. Over the next couple of cleanings I then noticed a picture on my console laying flat, I went to stand it back up and found that the stand in back of it had broken off now this was only two hours after they left and I was the only person home that day. Okay i then went to open my shutters and discovered the magnetic piece to hold it closed was also broken off not one but two were broken. So I emailed R _ _ _ _ and the owner C _ _ _ _ and waited for a repsonse, two days went by and NO reply so I called the owner directly and asked if he received the email, he claims he did not receive it even though my box said it got delivered to his email. So I repeated what I said in my email to him, again he said he would talk to his staff about not leaving me a note about the broken items. And that was it! No apology - No restitution - No discount on my next cleaning. They did not value my business enough to come up with even a $10.00 discount or even an apology. When the staff came the next week to clean I spoke to them about it and they did say their boss did mentioned it to them, but of course they don't know how it happened. The team leader casually said "oh the women are afraid to clean your home" because I spoke up about the damaged items. Wow! I was appalled at the lack of concern from the owner and his staff.So I now use another company.
View full review
1 comment
#1159325

Can you blame them?? I wouldn't want to set foot in your home either if every time you misplaced something or noticed one of your junky possessions was broken, you place false accusations on others without having any proof! You have some nerve!

ID
#401039 Review #401039 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Honolulu, Hawaii
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$1200

Housing Cleaning

I had Maid Brigade come to my house in January. They did not do a very good cleaning the first time through, dusting-poor, cleaning floors-poort. I paid $180.00. I called back to customer service. They did come back the next day and did an excellent job. I decided to use them again, this time I cut back the floor mopping and dusting so I could have them clean my windows. I got quoted $200.00 for all that. I cancelled cleaning the windows and just wanted the basic cleaning. The basic cleaning was as I expected, the windows not done, no mopping, or dusting. I still got charged the whole $200.00. Debbie (customer service) told me that I wasn't happey the first time and they wanted to make sure they did things right. So basically telling me they didn't care, they wanted their money back for having to come back and finish their poor work from a previouse experience. They were at my house for about maybe an hour becaue my wife got home early for lunch. at most. They made the beds (which I did not tell them to do), and they took out the trash. The only two bit of extra they did. And they did not do a completely clean job like mop all the floors or dust. So I am outraged I was quoted a simple cleaning cost of $135.00 and they still charged me $200.00 for incomplete work--or work I cancelled for them to do.So all in all. I WILL NEVER EVER USE THEM AGAIN! MANAGED VERY POORLY!MATTHEW H.
View full review
1 comment
#689621

I feel so badly for you, Sir. Please know in the future, dusting and mopping should ALWAYS be part of the "basic service".

The cleaning crew should leave when the job is done, and fully completed; not when your wife arrives home! I have heard of that too, where the crew leaves after so many hours, whether the job is complete or not. That is nonsense. I can't believe some people practice business like that.

I have worked for four different cleaning outfits, and let me tell you, the job was done when the bathrooms and kitchen were cleaned, mopped and sanitized; and the rest of the house was dusted and vacuumed. None of the ones I worked for did windows. But I have heard of ones that give you a "few hours" of work, and then leave when the timer dings, so to speak. Just think if you went to a restaurant and were served a raw steak on your plate, and the waitress informed you the chef ran out of time?

That wouldn't be acceptable! Neither should these kinds of shenanigans with house cleaning. I personally would hide all valuables too, even if you are home when the service is done, because I have known of housekeepers to steal! It's not as uncommon as you might think.

A lot of them also are notorious for teying to give things a lick and a promise and get by with as little as possible. I do know it is a tough gig though, because it seems as a housekeeper, no matter what you do, you are NEVER going to satisfy everyone. There is always going to be someone unhappy with something. It just seems to be the nature of this type of business.

I hope this was helpful, and good luck to you in the future...Oh!

And you are better off, if you can find someone who will let you pay by the job, and not the hour. That way, they can't make excuses for running out of time, and not doing all the work they said they would.

ID
#391820 Review #391820 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Washington, District Of Columbia
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$60
New Reviewer

Maid Brigade in Austin, Tx is horrible

My wife and I decided to have a cleaning service for our home. We settled upon Maid Brigade in Austin, Tx. We paid over $300.00 over the course of 2 months and have received nothing short of horrible cleaning service and even worse customer service. The so called owner, Mr. Robert Van Patten, decided that it was great customer service to hang up on me while I was explaining to him how horrible his cleaning service has been. After getting back on the phone I asked for my house key back and he has informed me that he would send it to me in the mail or I can come to the office to pick it up. Not sure why I have to drive to see them when it was required of me to leave my key for his maids. I now do not feel safe and secure in my own home. I have still been charged for services that have been half ***-ed rendered. I would not recommend this company to anyone. If this is the level of service my family and I can expect after the years my wife and I have dedicated to our community as EMS professionals and the years I have dedicated to my country in the armed forces, then GOD help all of us. Thank you for listening.
View full review
3 comments
#1113237

Hello, my name is Scott Van Valkenburgh, I'm the new owner of Maid Brigade of Austin as of January 1, 2016. First, thank you for your service to our country.

I'm terribly sorry you had a problem with our cleaning services and one of the old owners of this franchise. Our policy is to always fix any problem with our service (on average our quality scores come back at over a 4 out of 5, but mistakes do happen!), so I'm not sure why Robert would have treated you the way he did.

Rest assured, this would not happen today.

#1197845
@PissedConsumer1113237

Unfortunately, it is now August 2016 and under the current owner this same exact thing has occurred. What's even more amazing, the owner excused me of wanting something for nothing.

I paid full price for a service which was not provided and dealt with a level of disrespect from the owner that was unimagine able. He was not accommodating at all.

His staff even has pictures of the poorly completed work. Please avoid this hassle and hire a different company who fulfill there obligations.

#1822349
@PissedConsumer1197845

its accused. not excused.

get some help for the PTSD, guy. Ill help if I can. im a vet too.

But dont take it out on this guys business. keep your head about ya.

View more comments (2)
ID
#361884 Review #361884 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Austin, Texas
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$300
New Reviewer

Poor house cleaning service by Maid Brigade of SE Michigan in Wixom

If you need house cleaning service, please beware. A company with the above name provided lousy service and poor response to customer complaints. I paid $310 for a whole house cleaning excluding floors with carpet and basement. When the job was done, I went to inspect the house. I was shocked to find counter tops, dinning table, fireplace, and light fixtures covered with a thick layer of dust. After a phone call to the company's office, they agreed to send someone in to finish up for another $70 on the following day. I paid the money, but the condition of the house remained the same. The explanation offered by the company was that dust came from the heating system of the house. This is a real joke. Unless the heating system worked like an exhaust fan, there was no possibility that this much dust would accumulate overnight! I paid nearly $400 with no noticeable improvement of the condition of the house. This service is worse than some fly-by-night companies.
View full review
ID
#359979 Review #359979 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Westland, Michigan
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$400
New Reviewer

Maid Brigade overpriced for level of effort

Update by user Jul 06, 2012

I\'m not sure why this is listed for Missouri. This occurred with the Indianapolis, IN southside Maid Brigade.

Original review posted by user Jul 05, 2012
I had been referred to Maid Brigade, from my sister. When I had called, I was given an estimate of $200 for a complete and thorough cleaning, including cleaning all baseboards, trim and doors. Well, I'm now out $333 for sub-par work. I had to clean/wipe down several items which they did not do including all doorways and doors, baseboards in the entry way, bathroom sink and faucets, dust the stairwell banisters, etc. I was told they would arrive between 12:00 - 1:00pm and I would receive a call 20-30 minutes before arrival, so I could leave work and meet them. When no one had called by 1:14pm, I called them. They then called me back at 1:29pm and stated they would be there in 20 minutes. No one arrived until 2:20pm! My house is all hardwood and I have only one 5x7 rug upstairs, which they didn't even vaccum! They just called me this morning for a review and made no apologies or attempt to address the situation. I just heard silence and an "OK." Stay away from this company. They're not worth the headache or cost!
View full review
3 comments
#508267

Okay, that makes ME feel better.

#507992

This occurred in Indianapolis, IN, not St. Louis.

#507965

Hello, I am the owner of Maid Brigade of St. Charles.

We do not service the Florissant area, and I do not recall charging anyone over $300 within the last month. I am now concerned that someone is operating under my business name who is not affiliated with me.

If am mistaken, then please call me and I will be happy to fix the situation.

If there is an issue with one of my teams cleanings I always offer to fix the problem. I only spoke with one customer yesterday and their bill was nowhere near $300.

View more comments (2)
ID
#329472 Review #329472 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Florissant, Missouri
New Reviewer

Maid Brigade: Maryland A Major Rip Off!

I used maid brigade to clean my house, at least a small part of it. I received a price of $210 to clean a 2400 sq ft two story house. They were to clean the entire house! They sent two maids out and quit after slightly more than 3 hours. They did not even finish the entire upstairs and cleaned only a small 1/2 bath downstairs. Basically, they cleaned less than 1/2 the house for $210. I called customer service immediately upon coming home from work. The person I spoke with apologized and assured me the operations supervisor would call back first thing in the morning at 8:00 and make arrange for the crew to come back and finish. At 09:05 the next day I received a call from a sales manager making all kinds of excuses and said they would need 5 more hours (for each maid times 2 = 10 man hours) to finish the house and that would be more than the original amount. They supposedly guarentee their work but do not stand by it. In my oppinion they are a rip off and give bogus estimates then want much more to do the work. I have had this house cleaned top to bottom spick and span many, many times and the most I have ever paid is $200 and never taken one person more than 6-7 hours to do. I highly recommend not using Maid Brigade.
View full review
ID
#322005 Review #322005 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Baltimore, Maryland
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$210
New Reviewer

Maid Brigade didn't do JACK

My husband hired the Maid Brigade to clean bathrooms and do dusting (I am highly allergic). He hired the Nothern Indianapolis Maid Brigade to come to our home. These two women moved things around in our bathrooms....and that is all. There was not one wet surface in the bathroom and nothing had been cleaned. When we phoned to complain, we were told that "for an extra fee, they would come back to finish the job". Don't ever hire this company. I could not believe they wanted more money from me to "finish" the job. Nothing was completed and the dust that was knocked down from a celing fan was left on my floor. What a joke.
View full review
ID
#305734 Review #305734 is a subjective opinion of poster.
Location
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Service
Maid Brigade Cleaning Service
Loss
$100